Once the database shows you have completed the required CLE hours, you will be able to log in to your Practice Portal and pay the required $10.00 compliance filing fee. If your transcript does not reflect all CLE hours completed, go ahead and fill out the required Certificate of Compliance and submit the records of attendance for the programs not listed and a member of the MCLE Staff will contact you with instructions on finalizing payment.
Lawyers or Paralegal Practitioners who fail to complete the requirement by the June 30, deadline, or fails to file the Certificate of Compliance and required $10.00 filing fee by the July 31 deadline, will be assessed a $100.00 late fee.
Active status lawyers in Utah are required to complete12 hours of accredited CLE, to include 1 hour of legal ethics and 1 hour of professionalism and civility. Lawyers will have through June 30 to complete required CLE hours without paying late filing fees and through July 31 to file Certificate of Compliance reports without paying late filing fees. At least 6 hours must be verified CLE, which may include and combination of in-person, remote group CLE or verified e-CLE. The remaining hours may include elective or verified CLE.
Verified CLE = Live CLE
Elective CLE = Self-Study CLE
This form is for individual lawyers or paralegal practitioners to apply for accreditation of a CLE activity.
The Required Non-Refundable Special Accreditation Fee of $10.00 will be assessed after we receive the application.
• Live credit includes In-person CLE, Remote Group CLE or verified E-CLE.
• Self-Study credit includes Lecturing, Teaching, Writing and Community Outreach.
House Counsel means a lawyer admitted with a restricted House Counsel license as defined in Rule 14-719, which is required and limits the lawyer’s practice of law to the business of the lawyer’s employer; House Counsel lawyers must pay a $25.00 filing fee and submit the House Counsel Certificate signed by the jurisdiction where House Counsel maintains an active license evidencing that the lawyer has completed the hours of CLE required of active lawyers in the jurisdiction where House Counsel is licensed.
If the jurisdiction where the lawyer maintains an active license does not have a CLE requirement; or the lawyer complies in a jurisdiction where CLE is self-reporting and the jurisdiction does not sign the House Counsel Certificate, the House Counsel lawyer must then complete 12 hours of accredited CLE each Compliance Cycle, to include 1 hour of Ethics CLE and 1 hour of professionalism and civility CLE. At least 6 of the 12 hours must be live CLE.
Please download the House Counsel Certificate and have it signed by the State’s MCLE Board Director. Email the completed form to email@example.com and call 801-531-9077 with compliance fee payment. House Counsel lawyers who fail to complete the requirement by the June 30, deadline, or fails to file the House Counsel Certificate and required $25.00 filing fee by the July 31 deadline, will be assessed a $100.00 late fee.
Comity Certificate is a Certificate filed by a Utah lawyer to show CLE compliance with an approved reciprocal jurisdiction (Idaho, Oregon, or Washington) where the lawyer practices law; Lawyers need to have the Comity Certificate signed by the State’s MCLE Board Director by the June 30th deadline, and filed with the Utah Supreme Court Board of Continuing Legal Education with the required $25.00 filing by the July 31 deadline. Comity Certificates not signed by the June 30, deadline, or filed by the July 31 deadline, will be assessed a $100.00 late fee.
Utah will provide a COMITY Certificate for the following jurisdictions: Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. Use this form to request a COMITY Certificate.
We are committed to serving the public and our members. Send us a message so we can know how to help you.