Utah is a 60-minute CLE state, and minutes are rounded down to the nearest half hour after the first 60 minutes of instruction. If hosting a multi-hour event, build break times into your agenda while still accounting for 60 minutes of content.
Accreditation for CLE is based on instruction time. Introductions, breaks, awards ceremonies, and lunches are not accredited for CLE. Lunches may be accredited for CLE if they are part of a keynote presentation on a subject matter directly related to the practice of law.
CLE courses must be of intellectual content and comprised of subject matter directly related to the practice of law.
If seeking ethics credit, the CLE program should include instruction on the Utah Rules of Professional Responsibility, or instruction on general ethical conduct such as law practice management or the use of technology that, as part of the CLE, significantly relates to and discusses compliance with one or more of the Utah Rules of Professional Responsibility.
If seeking professionalism and civility credit, the CLE program should include instruction on the Utah Standards of Professionalism and Civility, or instruction on general professional and civil conduct or another matter such as wellness or substance abuse that, as part of the CLE, significantly relates to and discusses compliance with one or more of the Utah Standards of Professionalism and Civility.
CLE providers must submit an application for accreditation within 60 days prior to or 30 days following the CLE with the applicable fees. The CLE provider should include a timed agenda when submitting the application. A CLE provider who desires to advertise CLE as being accredited must submit a request for approval at least 30 days prior to the CLE.
The CLE course must be made available to lawyers and paralegal practitioners throughout the state unless the CLE provider demonstrates to the satisfaction of the Board that there is good reason to limit availability.
CLE faculty must have the necessary practical or academic skills to conduct the CLE course effectively.
If CLE accreditation is granted for the course, the CLE provider will be required to file the registration list and applicable CLE fees for attendees within 30 days following the course.
Application Fees: The required course accreditation fee is $25 per application. If the CLE provider does not charge a registration fee to attend the CLE program, the accreditation fee is waived.
Registration Fees: Within 30 days following the CLE program, the provider must submit the registration list and CLE fees for attendees. The fee is $1.50 per credit hour per attendee. The $1.50 fee caps at $15.00 per attendee. This fee is required even if the CLE provider does not charge a registration fee to attend the CLE program.
Providers that fail to comply with the deadlines will be required to pay a $100 late fee for each course.
We are committed to serving the public and our members. Send us a message so we can know how to help you.